Multi-part cards


Some Magic cards come with multiple modalities; different sets of information about the card to be used in different situations.

As you can see, there isn't a clear delineation between what cards are or aren't "multi-part". All cards are multi-part in the sense that they can all be face down, bestow cards have two very distinct modalities despite having a normal-looking frame, leveler cards have a special frame but "under the hood" just have static abilities that change their other abilities and size depending on the number of level counters on them, etc.

So instead of comprehensively going over specific kinds of multi-part cards, this course will instead discuss the general framework that they all fit into, giving you the tools to deal with any particular ones as they arise. As always, the best way to deal with a specific new ability or layout you haven't seen before is to look up its section in the rules.

The two zones in which the majority of interaction takes place are the stack and the battlefield. Accordingly, all existing multi-part cards are focused on those two zones, and don't do anything interesting anywhere else. All multi-part cards except split cards have a single "primary" part, and that part's characteristics are used in any zone other than the stack or battlefield. Double-faced cards have a front face, Adventurer cards have a normal non-Adventure portion, etc.

Split cards are the exception with two equal card halves, neither being the "primary". In non-stack zones, their characteristics are derived from both halves combined. This is still the case even if one of the halves visually looks more important, as is the case on split cards with aftermath.

Any multi-part card that has an alternate name (double-faced cards, adventurer cards, split cards, and flip cards) counts as its own conceptual "card" outside the game. If something asks you to name a card, you can choose the alternate name.

Some multi-part cards allow you to choose how to cast them. (Adventurer, split, prototype, bestow, morph, etc.) When doing so, it's only the part you're casting that "counts". For example, if you control Grid Monitor, you could cast an Adventure, but not a creature that has an adventure. You could cast a bestowed Aura, but not a creature with bestow. The card always has its "normal" characteristics in the previous zone, but for the purposes of putting it onto the stack, you treat it as having its alternate characteristics.

Next course: Multi-part cards

Welcome to RulesGuru!

It looks like your Javascript is disabled. You'll need to enable it in order for the site to work.

Welcome to RulesGuru!

It looks like your browser is out of date. You'll need to update it to a newer version in order for the site to work.